Plains Anthropological Society Board Meeting, 75th Plains Conference

6:30 pm, Friday, October 6, 2017

Van Gogh-Remington Room, Radisson Hotel, Bismarck, ND

Owing to the lateness of the meeting due to an extended Business Meeting, this meeting was undertaken very quickly. The single task confronted was the assignment of PAS officers and committee assignments.

Officers for the coming year

It was noted that the Vice President usually moves into the role of President (although not required), and this tradition was followed. Vice President Jay Sturdevant was nominated and confirmed by the Board as the new President, and he took over the meeting. Mary Adair is Vice President, Ken Kvamme is Secretary, and Chris Johnston is Treasurer.

Appointments of Committee Chairs:

- 1. Nominations Committee: Mike Fosha
- 2. Bylaws Committee: Mary Adair
- 3. Distinguished Service Committee: Doug Bamforth
- 4. Student Paper Award Committee: Laura Schieber
- 5. Native American Student Award Committee: Lance Foster & Cherie Haury-Artz
- **6. Archives Committee:** Ken Kvamme
- 7. Resolutions Committee: Don Blakeslee
- **8. Conference Handbook Committee:** Ken Kvamme, Jay Sturdevant, Chris Johnston, Wendi Murry, Cherie Haury-Artz
- 9. Website Committee: Mary Adair
- **10. Endowment Committee:** Sarah Trabert, Chris Johnston
 - **Donna Roper Endowment:** Mary Adair
- **11. Membership Committee** Wendi Murray, Chris Johnston, plus a student (to be named)
- 12. Financial Review Committee: Mark Mitchell, Chris Johnston, Doug Bamforth
- 13. Student Affairs Committee: Student is to be chair & Cherie Haury-Artz
- 14. Travel Grants Committee: Assignments to this committee were tabled
- **15. Ray Wood Book Award Committee:** Kacy Hollenback. The award is to be titled "W. Raymond Wood Outstanding Publication in Anthropology."