Second Board of Directors Meeting 71st Plains Anthropological Conference Friday, October 4, 2013; Immediately following Business Meeting Snowberry Room Embassy Suites Loveland - Hotel, Loveland, Colorado

- 1. Call to order (Greer): Mark Muniz, Mark Miller, Mark Mitchell, Mavis Greer, Jeani Borchert, Kacy Hollenback, Steve DeVore, Adam Graves, Matt Hill, Bob Brooks, Susan Vehik, Amy Bleier, and Marcel Kornfeld were present.
- Nomination and election of officers for the coming year (Greer):
 Mavis Greer nominated Mark Mitchell for President, Amy Bleier for Vice
 President, and Jeani Borchert for Secretary. Susan Vehik seconded. All approved.
- 3. Nominations Committee (1 Board member chair, chair picks 2 members). Mark Mitchell.
- 4. Bylaws Committee (Vice President)
 Amy Bleier
- 5. Distinguished Service Award Committee (1 Board member chair, members selected by chair)

Susan Vehik. She will find two other members to assist her. They have one nomination in hand. They will use an August deadline for nominations.

6. Student Paper Award Committee (Scheiber chair, editor, members selected by chair)

Laura Scheiber. Other members are according to her report.

There was discussion on the issue of student papers with some students presenting as part of symposia. It was decided they could present the same paper twice, so they aren't excluded from the competition. It will be put in the handbook. This should make for a larger competition. We will see how this goes. It can always be revisited. The Committee will add to the grading of the papers a recommendation for 1) Publish as is, 2) Publish with revisions, 3) Do not publish. They are changing some of the assessment tools. From now on Advisor's will need to sign off on the submissions. Students will need to submit the paper and deliver it at the conference.

7. Native American Student Award Committee (2 Board members, 3 at large selected by chair) (a Board member is chair)

Jeani Borchert (Chair). Mark Muniz will be the second board member. Jaqueline St. Clair is a consistent volunteer for this committee. Kacy Hollenbeck would also like to be on the committee. One other member will be chosen.

- 8. Archives Committee (1 Board member chair, editor, president, USD archivist)
 Jeani Borchert (Chair), Marcel Kornfeld, Mark Mitchell, and Dori Peterson.
- 9. Resolutions Committee (1 Board member work with Conference Chair)
 Doug Macdonald (Chair)
- Conference & Handbook Committee (1 Board member chair, often most recent conference host, others at chairs discretion)
 Amy Bleier (Chair), Ken Kvamme, Matt Hill. Kacy will help with the Student Paper Award Committee staff on this.
- 11. Web Site Committee (1 Board member chair, work with web master, others as desired). Bob Brooks (Chair). Marcel Kornfeld will be the Maney connection for this Committee.
- 12. Endowment Committee (1 Board member chair, treasurer) Kacy Hollenback (Chair) and Adam Graves.
- 13. Membership Committee (1 or more Board members as needed).

 Doug MacDonald (Chair) with Matt Hill, Adam Graves, Michelle Stokely
- 14. Transfer of files took place.
- 15. Other business: The Board decided, at Kacy's request, to add a Student Affairs Committee. This Committee will be chaired by Sarah Trabert. Also serving will be William Reitze, Brendon Asher, and for the Board Kacy Hollenback and Matt Hill.
 - Both the Ethics Committee and the Publications Committee were discontinued at this meeting.
- 16. Adjourned at 6:47 pm.