Distinguished Service Award

      Distinguished Service Award Nomination

      The Board of Directors of the Plains Anthropological Society is seeking nominations for the 2016 Distinguished Service Award. Nominations may be submitted by regular mail or by email and must include a vita or resume, a brief synopsis of the nominee's career, contributions to Plains Anthropology and the Plains Conference, letters of support from others, and a justification statement for the nomination. The award, established in 1991, recognizes outstanding lifetime achievement in Plains anthropological research, teaching, scholarship, and service to the profession. Past recipients include: Waldo R. and Mildred Mott Wedel, W. Raymond Wood, William J. Mayer-Oakes, Robert E. Bell, George C. Frison, Larry and Janice Tomsyck, David M. Gradwohl, Richard G. Forbis, James and Delores Gunnerson, Don G. Wyckoff, Fred and Mary Jane Schneider, Thomas Kehoe, Dale R. Henning, Stanley A. Ahler, Thomas A. Witty, Patricia O'Brien, Leslie B. Davis, Richard A. Krause, and F. A. Calabrese. Submit nominations by August 1, 2016 to:

      Douglas Bamforth (2018)
      Department of Anthropology
      University of Colorado at Boulder
      Campus Box 233 UCB
      Boulder, CO 80309
      Phone: (303) 492-7586
      Email: Doug Bamforth

      Past Recipients

      Student Paper Awards

      Full or part-time, undergraduate or graduate students are invited to participate in the annual Student Paper Award. You will present your paper at the annual Plains Conference. The winner will receive a cash award and the winning paper will be published in the Plains Anthropologist.

      Guidelines and past recipients

      Native American Student Award

      Native American anthropology students enrolled in Plains colleges or universities are invited to apply for the PAS Native American scholarship award.

      Guidelines and past recipients